Skip to content

sillyamerican

So I’m not exactly a Farmer’s Market type of person. I know it’s very fashionable at the moment – and so acceptable that saying I’m NOT into them borders on un-PC, but there it is. I’m not really into knowing where my food comes from – I prefer to think my meat was born in that little styrofoam tray, individually served, sanitized,  and ready for me to nom. (That’s a lie! I don’t even like seeing it in tray).

UNTIL.

I went to Eveleigh Markets this past Saturday. And they had BAGELS.

Americans in America reading this are all like, “meh, whatevs, bagels” but any American in Australia shares my pain of the absence of bagels. And these are DELICIOUS bagels, they are no faux imposters.

So, besides the bagels, there are lots of other wonderful things. homemade olive oils in dozens of flavours, food stands from well-known Sydney chefs, Masterchef contestants (although not the surfer one, so srsly, who cares), flower stalls.

I did notice at the markets that I was woefully out of place, not having a dog nor a baby nor Toms.

Noted. Next time I’ll make sure to steal borrow a child.

Hayden, stop FOLLOWING me. I have a boyfriend, God.

PS. I ate five bagels in the last three days.

Share

Tags: , , ,

