Skip to content

sillyamerican

Jem star rating:

I read this book in less than twelve hours – not showing off, its slim and pages are thick – but I couldn’t STOP. The prose was simple, unadorned and the perspective was fresh. It’s a series of vignettes from different points in the life of a twenty something Latina woman, raised in a posh New Jersey suburb.

Also what struck me was that this was the first time as an adult that I’ve read a book where the narrator was my age and had similar experiences to my own  – As she traveled back through her experiences, they roughly matched up with my own timeline. It was kind of like a warped looking-glass, so I couldn’t help devouring it.

Beautiful and understated, looking forward to reading it again – more slowly.

Tags: ,

