Skip to content

sillyamerican

bitch im on the innanet

Alex's office

Alex, an old friend from Boston, was in Sydney this morning – he works on a cruise . Back in the day we used to work at Giacomo’s together in the South End. I was 18 and had just moved to the city for college and Alex looked after me.

By ‘looked after me,’ I mean brought me  to seedy bars in the North End where he would drink Johnny Walker (Black) and smoke Marlboros (Red) and I would drink whatever was put in front of me and then concentrate really hard on acting like I wasn’t drunk.

Most nights would end with Alex, myself, and his flatmate Cosmin at their kitchen table babbling at each other eating pickles and various meat that they cooked.

This sounds stranger than it felt.

Anyways, was so good seeing Alex. Re-crossing paths unexpectedly is a lovely thing – I was sitting across from him at coffee smiling to myself about how it is that we had both ended up in the same city, at the same time, on the other side of the world.

Share

Tags: , ,

