Skip to content

sillyamerican

bitch im on the innanet

Alex has been gone since the first week of December, and I’m over it. Gallivanting all over Europe, while I sit here and melt.
The house smells of whatever it is that is rotting in the fridge, the plants are dead, the liquor cabinet is empty. My hair is a hot mess. (See: Ranga)
Teach him to leave me unsupervised.
Here is us in happier times, when my hair and home were significantly less feral.

He is due home sometime today, meaning I probs won’t see him until this weekend as he will be with his man and won’t resurface from domestic bliss until Nathan’s Thursday night late shift.

Speaking of domestic bliss, I whipped up a mean faux canape spread on Australia day. I say faux because not a one involved the oven : prosciutto wrapped figs, bocconcini with tomato, basil, black olives and pesto, roast beef crostini with wasabi sour cream and arugula, goat’s cheese devilled eggs, and frozen white chocolate mousse with fresh berries.
I’m pretty confident I fooled everyone into thinking I knew what I was doing, when realistically I had googled “easy party recipes” and spent the morning wandering the grocery store asking the clerks what eschalots were and if one could just melt chocolate in the microwave?

So Australia day was passed happily, celebrated in the manner of every other Australian holiday: in the company of friends, swimming, drinking, barbecuing. Life is tough, eh?

Share

Tags: , , , ,

